Gambling with Life

Screw others, always be ready to place the bet !

The greatest guy I’ve ever known

Posted by Rojit on April 30, 2012

U know dad, you’re the first guy whom I ever went on a date watching a movie and holding hands,” she slowly speaks looking at her dad who is still wearing a smiling face.

”Remember Dad, the first day of my school life when u left me inside a class with faces full of strangers, I was scared and crying like anything and you hold my hands, brought out a handkerchief, blew my running nose, stroke my hair and said to me,

‘When you cry, you know your daddy isn’t happy. If you really want to make me sad, com’on you can cry just like you’re doing right now. But princess, your tears aren’t worth falling off if the reason isn’t proper. Ur daddy will be here just outside the class and if the teacher is treating you badly, daddy will see that the teacher gets full punishment. Okay? ”

That was the nicest thing someone ever has told me and the fact that it was you, made my life even more special. Don’t tell me u didn’t but I did see you crying as well. ” And thanks to you, I met my best friend in this school…Richa. Btw, daddy she is in US now and a mother of two. You’ll love it when you see…*sigh* …see them.

I don’t remember how many times I have got sick but each time I did, you always told me the story of the princess who was saved from a fatal disease, and come what may…it always made a curve upon my face. And every time, u narrated the story u had to convince me it was a different story and I didn’t care much as long as you were the one narrating the story.”

Still binding the marigold together with both her hands, she again continues-

‘You have that uncanny knack of helping me smile even when I was angry. When our puppy Jackey died I was so down at heart and for days I couldn’t even eat. That’s when I had my first candle light dinner with a guy and thanks a lot it was you. You played my favourite song and cooked my favourite dish. You then introduced me to Jenny. And dad, Jenny is all grown up now and perhaps the most faithful creature I’ve ever seen. Sometimes, I do see your smile in Jenny.”

”Granny told me once when you had to come down running all the way from your office just because I started walking for the first time in life. And whenever mommy told me the story I couldn’t help picture the huge antique video camera with which you had to shoot the video.”

Her voice getting heavy with all the emotions boiling up, she added, “And once during my College days, we were chatting and chatting over the phone…and then you told me a secret about your high school crush. I still am keeping that secret, daddy but I did have a secret that time and am sorry I didn’t tell you because I feared that Roby would no way come close to being a guy like my dad. But dad, he turned out to be the best guy next to you. He is the same guy I show you the photo last year and yup dad, Roby’s name is also there in your daughter’s wedding card! How I wish if you could meet him just once. And you’ll know the reason why your daughter has fallen in love with him.”

This time like a dark monsoon cloud, her eyes couldn’t help but shower the tears so long holding for. With the final garland she just made, she puts on her father’s picture. And an agarbati in her hands, she wishes for her father as she does every day. And on picture, she could now see her mother and it seems she has been listening to all of this while she was talking to her dad. Knowing that she finally tells her dad,

”You must be so happy up there daddy and u have left me with this drama queen of eavesdropping! This is so not fair. ”

And just like that, her mom joined in her prayer but now with a little smile over her face. And like a caring Almighty, her dad still with a smile, looks over them from the picture hanging above!

2 Responses to “The greatest guy I’ve ever known”

  1. Kanan said

    Luvlyyy!!:P

Leave a Reply

 
