Gambling with Life

Screw others, always be ready to place the bet !

I too am an Indian..!!

Posted by Rojit on April 12, 2012

 

I come from an unknown land surrounded by nine hills once called as Switzerland of India.

“They say I eat snakes. They say I eat lizards.”

Wish it really were true to make you sound educated, but I myself fall among one of those Hindu families where in my home I’m not allowed to even touch kitchen utensils without taking a bath, forget thinking of eating those.

“They say I look like Chinese. They say I look like Nepali.”

And who won’t say that ‘coz I really look like them and looks can’t be deceptive at all. But what pains me most is the condescending manner with which they tell me I look like the Non-Indian people.

They say we are not that smart to make it to IITs and IIMs

And I couldn’t agree with you more, but know this – the year when I was in class X, more than 80 days of holidays were just due to bandhs and strikes. And sadly, it usually occurs every year! To add to the misery,the definition of load shedding has lost its meaning when electricity comes to homes for less than 6 hours a day.

“They say so many things about our dressing styles.”

And if you still think our dressing styles rather seem odd to you then forgive us for buying clothes from International Brands.

“They call me Chinky. They call me Nepali. They also call me Momos.”

I remember myself in my childhood days and my local elders would advise us to call the non-manipuris, mostly Biharis or UPs or MPs as ‘Bhaiya’ not knowing it actually meant ‘Brother’. And here I’m after so many years of culture and education being injected into these bloods and I’m called ‘chinky’ and sometimes Nepali and also Momos. What should I do? Laugh at your inhospitality or curse my own fate of having born in my state?

They say we usually drink a lot, party a lot and fight like anything.

Yes we are proud people who won’t tolerate any bad things said. Yes we drink a lot not because ours is a ‘dry state’ but simply because 42.8 doesn’t seem just enough. And yet following the steps of Gandhiji’s non violence in this greatest democratic country in the world, we have Irom Sharmila fasting for more than 11 years. 

They ask me where I’m from..Japan? China? Korea? And if I answer Manipur then they will be awestruck asking where again!

I know Gandhinagar is capital of Gujarat, Thiruvananthapuram that of Kerala, Ranchi of Jharkhand. But, tell me honestly dear Bhaiyas, are you still having troubles in identifying the states of places like Itanagar, Kohima or Imphal? I don’t expect you to remember all these, but at least, be courteous enough to identify US as an Indian. Is that too much to ask for?! 

I may not have said anything before, like I just did. But what to do, I’m and probably will be treated like a foreigner in my own country! And I say I’m from an unknown place because even if I tell you everything, this place will still be unknown to you ‘coz forgive me for your ignorance, but you simply don’t give a shit about us !

But whatever things may be right now, I too am an Indian. Question is: How many still think we are?! 

Leave a Reply

 
