Gambling with Life

Screw others, always be ready to place the bet !

The Distant Girl

Posted by Rojit on January 9, 2012

It was an early morning and the breakfast would never be this good in my entire life..at least with that hope I went inside the kitchen and with a few favorite songs crooning inside my head, I started preparing what I believed to be my ‘speciality’ πŸ˜€ Reason : it was her birthday! With some cooking shows which I’ve been watching for a couple of weeks, a cook book and few of my friends’ suggestions, I had already bought all the ingredients the day before. The preparation went without any glitches and with a wry smile, I looked at unknown girlthe mirror in the kitchen, and whispered to myself, ”Mannnn, you’ve got it right this time..!”

I sneaked into our room and noticed that she still had her face covered with a paper..a white paper infact and it did amuse me. I took the B’Day gift out silently hoping not to disturb her and place it inside the refrigerator (of course to surprise her :D) with fresh red roses on top of it. Finally she woke up and upon noticing my absence, came searching for me. But something was still wrong with her face and it wasn’t a paper this time but something else which still covered her face. Nevertheless, I kissed her and wished her like every year. Her hands were as soft as they could ever be. Holding those angelic hands was one thing I would always love to do throughout my entire life. And as observant as anyone could be, she found that the breakfast was already ready. She was too happy that she started jumping around, like a small kid which again made me fall in love with her again. I asked her what was wrong with her face and she replied nothing. I thought it was part of her make-up or something she decided to do this B’Day. The two little angels also came running towards the breakfast table which by then was sparkling as ever. They greeted her and apparently, I’m the only one who was noticing the white mask on her face. I told to myself that Life’s certainly a bliss with two wonderful kids and a beautiful wife. When the kids hadn’t still noticed their mom’s face, so I finally said to the elder of the two,” Likla, is something wrong with your Mom’s face?” She didn’t even hear me and replied to me, ”What dad?” By then a music was playing and it kinda started disturbing us. I thought it must be from our next neighbor. Not letting it spoil our good time, I asked her again but this time the music, which was actually one of my favorites (GNR’s – ‘Sweet Child o’Mine’ ) started to sound louder and louder. Now the whole room started to shake and everything’s started to crumble. For the last time, I looked at her and she looked at me (with still the white mask on) I, though couldn’t see her eyes, felt the love I might be missing. I finally closed my eyes and this time, the Slash’s solo lead part finally did what it does to me everyday. I woke up as usual just after a dream which sounded so so real! πŸ˜› And yet again like many of those instances, I haven’t yet seen her face. I hate my alarm!

4 Responses to “The Distant Girl”

  1. della said

    phatjei. I can almost taste the love in your future family. Hope you see her face someday soon πŸ˜€

  2. amrita roy said

    Here’s to seeing the unknown πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
